Dorset Tourism Awards finalists announced

An AWARDS showcase celebrating the best of the best in the local tourism industry announced the finalists.

The Dorset Tourism Awards have announced their 54 finalists for this year’s awards, and all are now looking forward to awards day on February 10, when they will find out whether they have won gold, silver, bronze or a special prize. Eight others are given Commended status.

Organizers say the competition’s 9th year has seen many tourism businesses “beset by ever-changing challenges”, but insist that “the focus on excellence, innovation and resilience has remained as relevant than ever”.

Local entries include Sculpture by the Lakes based in Pallington near Dorchester, Dorset Museum, Fort Nothe in Weymouth, West Bay Discovery Centre. St John’s Guest House in Weymouth is in the running for B&B, Nicetta in Weymouth is in the Casual Dining Award category, as is Shalims Indian Restaurant.

South Lytchett Manor in Dorchester has been named alongside Weymouth’s Higher Moor Campsite and Charmouth’s Monkton Wyld Holiday Park as finalists in the Campsite and Caravan Park of the Year category.

Joann Briden runs South Lytchett Manor. She said: “We are honored to be finalists for this prestigious award. Thank you Dorset Tourism for recognizing us.”

Weymouth’s Ebike Cafe opened in the town in November 2020 and was nominated in the Cafe/Teahouse of the Year category and is run by husband and wife duo, Josephine Parker and Peter Claxton.

Ms Parker said: “We are thrilled and delighted to have been recognized for this award. We have set out to create a place that puts mental and physical well-being at the center of what we do.

“There aren’t many other places like us in Weymouth and we aim to be an inclusive space where everyone can come in and feel welcome.”

Channel View Guest House on Weymouth seafront has been nominated as a finalist in the B&B Guesthouse of the Year category.

Owner Melaney Noon said: “We are very happy to be finalists this year after two crazy summers.

“We are very honored to be finalists in the same category as St John’s Guesthouse who are our neighbors and dear friends.

“I feel honored because I know everyone who works in this industry in Dorset does so to an incredibly high standard. I’ve been delighted with all the amazing feedback we’ve been getting here – these are our best summers ever the temperature.”

Amanda Park, Head of Tourism Development at Visit Dorset, said: “We are delighted to support the awards which celebrate the variety and quality of Dorset’s tourism businesses and showcase their hard work and achievements! As a sponsor of the New Business category, it is fantastic to see the industry continue to grow and develop despite the challenges of the past two years. Congratulations to all the finalists and good luck!”

Awards organiser, Robin Barker of Services for Tourism, added: “Despite all that has been thrown at them, the awards once again demonstrate the quality, innovation and resilience of leading tourism businesses. Many congratulations to all of you.”

Finalists from across the county said they were “honoured to learn they had been nominated for the awards.”

Here is a full list of finalists and kudos (in alphabetical order) for the Dorset Tourism Awards 2021/22:

ACCESSIBLE AND INCLUSIVE TOURISM AWARD sponsored by Bournemouth University

Finalists

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

SPECIAL APPRENTICESHIP PRIZE sponsored by NFU Mutual Wessex

Finalists

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

B&B AND GUESTHOUSE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Goadsby

Finalists

• St John’s Guesthouse, Weymouth, stjohnsguesthouse.co.uk @Fishersdream

• Channel View Guesthouse, Weymouth channelviewweymouth.co.uk

BUSINESS EVENTS AND WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Furleigh Estate

Finalists

• Highcliffe Castle, Christchurch, highcliffecastle.co.uk @HighcliffeC

• Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt

CAFÉ/TEAROOM OF THE YEAR sponsored by Clipper, clipper-teas.com

Finalists

• EBIKE Café @ Deheers, Weymouth, ebikecafe.co.uk

• Picnic Park Deli, Bournemouth picnicparkdeli.com, @picnicparkdeli

• Tangerine Café & Gallery, Beaminster, tangerinecafe.co.uk, @TangerineCafe1

Congratulations

• Pause Cat Café, Bournemouth, pausecatcafe.co.uk, @PauseCatCafe

CAMPING & CARAVANING PARK OF THE YEAR sponsored by Anytime Booking

Finalists

• Higher Moor Farm Campsite, Weymouth, uppermoorfarm.co.uk, @HigherMoorFarm

• Monkton Wyld Holiday Park, Charmouth, monktonwyld.co.uk, @Monkton_Wyld

• South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Dorchester, http://www.southlytchettmanor.co.uk, @campsitedorset

CASUAL DINING & RESTAURANT PRIZE sponsored by Furleigh Estate

Finalists

• Nicetta, Weymouth, nicetta.co.uk

• Shalims Indian Restaurant, Weymouth, shalimsbaltihouse.co.uk, @ShalimsBalti

• The Station Kitchen, Bridport, thestationkitchen.co.uk @StationKitchen

DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Pear Marketing

Finalists

• Burnbake Forest Campsite and Lodges, Corfe Castle, burnbake.com, @burnbake_dorset

• Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk, @MarshamCourt

Congratulations

• Polygon Pets Ltd, Poole, polygonpets.com

ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE AND SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD sponsored by Bournemouth Water

Finalists

• Dorset Forest Garden Glamping, Beaminster, dorsetforestgardenglamping.co.uk

• West Bay Discovery Centre, Bridport, westbaydiscoverycentre.org.uk, @WestBayDC

Congratulations

• Naked Cafe, Bournemouth, nakedcoffee.co, @nakedcoffeeuk

EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR (ACTIVE OR LEARNING) sponsored by Saffery Champness

Finalists

• All Hallows’ Farmhouse Cooking School, Wimborne St Giles, allhallowsfarmhouse.co.uk

• Jurassic Coast Guides, Milborne St Andrew, jurassiccoastguides.co.uk, @jurassicguides

• Shore Campers – Campervan Hire, Bournemouth, shorecampers.co.uk @ShoreCampers

GLAMPING COMPANY OF THE YEAR

Finalists

• At Goathill Farm, Sherborne, atgoathillfarm.co.uk

• Dorset Forest Garden Glamping, Beaminster, dorsetforestgardenglamping.co.uk

• The yurt at Hollands Farmhouse, Dorchester, hollandsfarmhouse.co.uk

HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR sponsored by Tozers

Finalists

• Golden Cap Holiday Park, Chideock, wdlh.co.uk/holiday-parks/golden-cap, @WDLH

• Highlands End Holiday Park, Bridport, wdlh.co.uk/holiday-parks/highlands-end, @WDLH

• Waterside Holiday Park & ​​Spa, Weymouth, watersideholidaygroup.co.uk/our-holiday-parks/waterside, @watersidedorset

Congratulations

• Durdle Door Holiday Park, Lulworth, durdledoor.co.uk

GRAND HOTEL OF THE YEAR sponsored by Hotel Perfect

Finalists

• Holiday Inn Bournemouth, hibournemouth.co.uk, @HolidayInnBMTH

• Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk, @MarshamCourt

• RNLI College, Poole, rnli.org/rnli-college, @RNLI

Congratulations

• Moonfleet Manor Hotel, Weymouth, moonfleetmanorhotel.co.uk

GREAT VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Love To Visit

Finalists

• Dorset Museum, Dorchester, dorsetmuseum.org, @DorsetMuseum

• Moors Valley National Park and Forest, Ashley Forest, moors-valley.co.uk, @moorsvalley

Congratulations

• Adventure Wonderland, Christchurch, adventurewonderland.co.uk, @wonderlandparks

NEW TOURIST ENTERPRISE AWARD sponsored by Visit Dorset

Finalists

• At Goathill Farm, Sherborne, atgoathillfarm.co.uk

• Carey’s Secret Garden, Wareham, careyssecretgarden.co.uk, @CareysSecret

• The King’s Arms, Dorchester, thekingsarmsdorchester.com, @thekingsarms_so

Congratulations

• Apex Expeditions, Poundbury, apexexpeds.com/go-discover-tours-adventure-holidays/uk

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO DORSET TOURISM sponsored by Darren Northeast PR

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

PUB OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Dorset Food & Drink

Finalists

• The Acorn Inn, Evershot, acorn-inn.co.uk, @Acorn_Inn

• Cross Keys, Sherborne, thecrosskeyssherborne.com, @crosskeyssherb

• The Grosvenor Arms, Shaftesbury, grosvenorarms.co.uk, @GrosvenorDorset

RESILIENCE AND INNOVATION AWARD sponsored by Bournemouth, Christchurch & Poole Tourism

Finalists

• Sculpture by the Lakes, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk, @SculptureLakes

• Shore Campers – Campervan Hire, Bournemouth, shorecampers.co.uk, @ShoreCampers

• Weymouth Bay RIB Charter, Weymouth, weymouthbayribcharters.co.uk

SELF-CURRENT ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Touch Stay

Finalists

• Frogbythesea, Chideock, frogbythesea.co.uk

• Greenwood Grange Holidays, Dorchester, greenwoodgrange.co.uk, @GreenwoodGrang1

• Spring Cottage, Wareham, lulworth.com/stay/spring-cottage, @LulworthEstate

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR sponsored by Clockwork Marketing

Finalists

• The Grange at Oborne, Sherborne, thegrange.co.uk, @GrangeatOborne

• The Grosvenor Arms, Shaftesbury, grosvenorarms.co.uk, @GrosvenorDorset

• The PIG-on the Beach, Studland, thepighotel.com/on-the-beach, @The_PIG_Hotel

LITTLE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Resort Dorset

Finalists

• Nothe Fort, Weymouth, nothefort.org.uk, @NotheFort

• Sculpture by the Lakes, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk, @SculptureLakes

• West Bay Discovery Centre, Bridport, westbaydiscoverycentre.org.uk, @WestBayDC

Congratulations

• Bridport Museum Trust, Bridport, bridportmuseum.co.uk, @BridportMuseum

TOURIST EVENT / FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR sponsored by Dorset Magazine

Finalists

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

UNSUNG HERO AWARD sponsored by Sculpture by the Lakes

Finalists

• Christine Hughes, Moors Valley Country Park, moors-valley.co.uk, @moorsvalley

• Mick Callaghan, Bournemouth Electric Club, Bournemouth, bournemouthelectricclub.co.uk

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Yellow Buses

Finalists

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

WINNER OF WINNERS sponsored by Dorset LEP

• To be announced at the awards ceremony

Comments are closed.